Skip to main content


Vice-Chancellor Fetes Mastercard Foundation Scholars

Vice-Chancellor Fetes Mastercard Foundation Scholars

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kwasi Obiri-Danso, has hosted Scholars of the Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (MCFSP at KNUST) to a dinner. The event was to afford the new Scholars admitted into the Programme the opportunity to socialise with older Scholars and some members of management of the University.
Professor Kwasi Obiri-Danso stated that the reason for the reception is to foster unity, togetherness, networking and a sense of communality among the scholars and management in order to promote the idea of giving back to society.

Professor Kwasi Obiri-Danso, Vice-Chancellor, KNUST
Professor Kwasi Obiri-Danso, Vice-Chancellor, KNUST

The Vice-Chancellor noted that being part of the MFSP at KNUST is a privilege, and a God-sent opportunity to access quality higher education with all expenses paid. This opportunity, he said hither to would not have been possible.

He therefore admonished them to remember that they are to reciprocate the kind gesture of the funders of their education by studying hard to make meaningful impact in their communities and to also give back to others.

Dr. Kofi Owusu-Daaku, Program Lead for the Vice-Chancellor
Dr. Kofi Owusu-Daaku, Program Lead for the Vice-Chancellor

Program Lead for the Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Kofi Owusu-Daaku, said the opportunity given them is also to position them to become leaders. He also advised them to be disciplined, accountable, civil and to make use of the facilities, resources and staff available to ensure a holistic training.

Professor William Gariba Akanwariwiak, Dean of Students, KNUST
Professor William Gariba Akanwariwiak, Dean of Students, KNUST

Professor William Gariba Akanwariwiak, Dean of Students, welcomed the new Scholars and pledged his outfit’s support to the Scholars. He also reiterated that they should abide by the rules and regulations of the University.

The event was used to award Scholars who had excelled in their academic work.